The Not NHoS - A different, supportable approach to Linux?

Greetings all.

I’ve been a bit of a lurker watching the development of the NHoS project, and have spoken to a couple of you about it a number of months ago. I’ve got some observations to share, and a potential solution to the problems that arose towards the end.

Firstly, a bit of background - I’ve been involved in deployment and management projects in the recent past where my team has successfully deployed thousands of Linux systems, remotely, over marginal bandwidth, and on demand. More on that later. Personally, I have something like 35 years of experience in IT, with the last 18 spent almost exclusively working with Linux based systems - Intel, Power and ARM based.

We are all aware of the failings of Windows as an OS, and also pending removal of support of Windows 7. But at the risk of (unintended) insult, I feel that yet another flavour of Linux is almost certainly not the answer. Allow me to explain why.

The biggest problem of software is legacy: maintaining it after the original creators have left the organisation, lost interest or worse.

Introducing a “NHS flavour” of Linux is a laudable goal, but in my opinion, focuses on the wrong things. Massive deployments of Linux have ultimately failed in the past for just those reasons: some enthusiasts did it themselves, the people involved moved on, the project lost momentum, and was ultimately binned. (Munich and Lower Saxony have both followed that trajectory, for example.)

All the operating system is, at the end of the day, is a launch platform that provides authentication to get you to the applications. Nothing more: nothing less. The color, name and font are irrelevant if it doesn’t run the apps.

The questions that need to be asked are:

• does the operating system support the software we need it to? (*1)
  • does the operating system support the hardware we already have? (*2)