Patient Data for the asking not the taking

My recent blog Patient Data there for the asking not the taking has triggered some discussion on Twitter @WoodcoteEwan which is difficult to conduct in 140 character chunks. I’m trying to persuade the people to move the discussion here.

I’d welcome any new participants and hope those from Twitter will come an join us.

Ewan

Cheers, and thanks for the more comfortable forum for this discussion.

Disclaimer up front, I am not a scientist or researcher, but someone who shares data (whole genome, phenotype) to the public domain, and I am familiar only with consent processes in the US, not the UK.

I have chosen to share freely, but I have done so with fully informed consent. On my side of the pond, forms gathering consent for data sharing usually end up at the bottom of a pile of papers pushed at patients before their care can commence and in most cases are barely read before they are signed. When one does read them, “research” is mentioned alongside boilerplate language about sharing with law enforcement when required and third party contractors to improve internal processes and blah blah blah. A patient that has hurried through a pile of paperwork really hasn’t given consent in any meaningful form even if it meets legal requirements.