Open Source - for developers

The tag ‘for developers’ is important for me, not because I’m a developer but I need to make a distinction between what open source is perceived as compared to what developers think it is.

For example:

Looking at this thread, An Open Clinical Terminology? As a developer I don’t need a terminology browser but I do need an API or something like to access SNOMED. This occurs whether I’m implementing a NoSQL, SQL or form solution. Rory suggestion of using GitHub - IHTSDO/snowstorm: Scalable SNOMED CT Terminology Server using Elasticsearch sounds like it fits this requirement and as a developer I could probably help with this part of it snowstorm/using-the-fhir-api.md at master · IHTSDO/snowstorm · GitHub

Similarly with the current push to use FHIR, as a developer I want to check my work is correct. For transfer of care NHSD have developed a test system but I need to be near to the end of the project before I can start using them. A developer (working on FHIR) needs to be able to test their work early on. You wouldn’t expect a builder to wait until the house is nearly complete before checking the doors open or the cement is holding the bricks together.

We have some tools which are described here HOWTO Check you FHIR code is correct (Transfer Of Care, LHCRE, Digital Child Health, Care Connect, GP Connect, etc) but that’s just part of toolset (how about checking the first floor is done). That project is now complete but as a developer I’m going to want to extend it, fix faults, move it to the latest international validation software (it should move to the r5 validator :slight_smile: ).

How as a (NHS/supplier) developer do I get to make these changes? It sounds quite simple, I know the HAPI FHIR libs and can do the changes myself but it takes time. The time is an issue though, I could be working in a hospital and spending several days/weeks needs to be justified - I’d be employed to support the hospital not (international/UK) open source.