Improving infusion pump safety (and hello)

Hi there ; Marcus has just introduced me to this place, so I’ll open with i) an introduction of myself and ii) a wee blog of the project I brought to NHS Hack Day last September.

I’m Adrian, I’m a 17 year veteran of the healthcare IT scene after a brief tour in the clinical trenches as a junior doctor, I’ve worked for both the private and public sector at ascribe, HSCIC and NantHealth, and my obsessions are mostly to do with making electronic health records “no worse than paper”, and version control systems.

This project was inspired by an excellent lecture by one Professor Thimbleby entitled Designing IT to make healthcare safer which is well worth 40 minutes of your time, although a summary of some of the points it makes are included below.

The Problem With Infusion Pumps

A lot of the talk focuses on how horrible infusion pumps are and how this causes medical errors which in some cases are fatal.

Horrible Maths

Calculating infusion rates isn’t fun, especially when you’re tired. You’re likely to have to deal with more than one physical unit (e.g. calculating how many ml/min you need to give of a mg/litre solution )to achieve a dose of mg/kg in your patient). You’re going to have to cope with decimal points and exponents of 10.

Horrible Labels

This is the first label I found when doing a search for infusion labels.

It seems to have a fairly complex infusion regime, so not only are there at least 15 numbers to choose from on this label, you have 5 opportunities to pick the wrong one to feed into this pump over the course of the infusion (and that includes opportunities to be so busy that you forget to change the rate).

Prof. Thimblby ably illustrates this with a real-world example that had fatal consequences.

Horrible UI