GP Connect - Composition/$getCareRecord POST

Wondering why the getCareRecord is a POST i.e. POST /Patient/$gpc.getcarerecord

I know REST operations aren’t part of the core FHIR spec but would have expected it to be of the form

GET /Composition?subject=Patient/{NHSNumber}&encounter.period.start>={date}&encounter.period.end<={date}&type=gpcarerecord etc

POST implies I’m sending information to the system (it is sending some parameters).
Using Patient implies it’s an operation on Patient demographic’s. This may be confusing to those learning FHIR and REST - it’s actually a Composition we are working with.

I’m pretty new to AngularJS/Ionic but found the composition’s difficult to work with. It would be easier if it was broken down into sections rather than having to parse the html to extract out the sections/headings.

I’ve just used the html in the app screen shot below but it shows how the raw data appears. Appointments and Documents (from NRLS) were a lot easier to process.

p.s. the POST is causing headaches also. Believe I’m getting CORS problems when deployed to an iPhone. Any help appreciated, code is here :slight_smile: Jorvik/summary.js at master · KevinMayfield/Jorvik · GitHub

Hi Kev,

It’s a POST rather than GET because it is a FHIR operation. An operation will often carry parameters in the body. Operations don’t map neatly onto a CRUD model so there is a conceptual mismatch between FHIR and http verbs; this is why Black Pear use a custom claims model for access control.
( https://github.com/BlackPearSw/jwt-claims-fhir/blob/master/jwt-claims-fhir.md ).