Creating API keys

Hi Marcus,
Quick noob question. I am a poor Python coder and am struggling to generate a subscription key to try a post request. Is there a quick how to?
My intention is to generate pyplots using just the centile and see if that is translatable by a paediatrician, eventually moving to an integration with our EPMA which holds weight, height, dob and date of measurements as states.

1 Like

Hi @raman0503

There’s no such thing as a poor Python coder! Python coders are the best in the world!

I would always recommend to start with using an API testing tool like Postman initially. We have created a ready-made testing collection for Postman, which is available here which can be run on the web or in Postman’s native application.

Getting API keys

1. Sign up at https://dev.rcpch.ac.uk/
  2. Select the Free Tier Products: Details - Digital Growth Charts API - Developer Portal
  3. Click on the big blue ‘Subscribe’ button
  4. Create an ‘application’ which holds your API keys
  5. you should be able to get your API keys in User: Profile - Digital Growth Charts API - Developer Portal

POSTing

• Include a Header of Primary-Subscription-Key which contains your Primary Key from your API account
  • POST a Body such as
{
    "birth_date": "2020-04-12",
    "gestation_days": 4,
    "gestation_weeks": 40,
    "measurement_method": "height",
    "observation_date": "2020-06-12",
    "observation_value": 60,
    "sex": "male"
}

And it should work

If you have problems I’m happy to do a quick video call with you and get it working together.

Thanks Marcus, I was going blind and didn’t see the giant subscribe button. Seemed to work but I started getting 404 errors. I’ll keep on playing with it over the weekend. Thanks for the help!

404s? Are you sure you’re hitting the right URL?

Remember the developer portal (website where you register and get your API keys and manage subscriptions) is at dev.rcpch.ac.uk

But the API itself is at api.rcpch.ac.uk